And They’ll Know We are Christians by Our What?

Paris.. How sickening? Kenya. America. Syria. Israel.

Pick a place.

There is turmoil everywhere in our world. The past few days there have been many posts on The Facebook comparing these tragedies, calling for the annihilation of ISIS, and hashtags pushing prayer for various happenings. The posts that bother me the most are the news stories and the posts saying that we should not allow Syrian refugees in our country.

Short Story Time:
Twice I have been kicked out of my parents’ house. The first was right after I graduated high school. Luckily, I was working 2 jobs and could afford to get my own place. The second was after I had my son. I was in school full-time and working only part-time. There was no way I could afford to immediately find my own place. My son was in his car seat and I had packed my car as full as I could. I sat full of fear because I had no place to go. I no longer had a home. I had someone other than myself to take care of. The feelings I had were a mixture of hopelessness, fear, rejection, and many others that I can’t begin to describe. I eventually made contact with someone I had lost touch with. He opened his home to me and my son with no questions asked and no expectation of any kind of payment or reciprocation. He gave us a place to stay and which allowed me to continue with my job and continue my schooling.

Many governors have, because of the attack in Paris, decided that Syrian refugees are not welcome in their states. Some of the governors who have said this surprised me as they are part of “The Bible Belt” of our country. REFUGEES I Googled that for those of you who don’t know what a refugee is. Refugees (aka PEOPLE) who no longer have a home. People, including children (some whose parents are no longer with them to guide them), who could not stay in their home country because it was not safe. They did not leave and make the long treks to refugee camps in other countries for exercise while carrying backpacks and only the shoes on their feet. They did not just up and decide to leave their comfortable and familiar home to go live in a camp that is unsafe and unclean for the experience of it. These people have been FORCED to leave their country.

Matthew 25:31-40
“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father’ take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'”

“But the greatest of these is love” 1 Corinthians 13:13. Just as Morgan showed me love and showed Christ through giving us a place to stay, so should we do this for the refugees. Yes, there is risk. Yes, it makes us uncomfortable. But answer me this: When did God ever promise us that we would be comfortable doing His work?

And they’ll know we are Christian by our:
Facebook status
Amount of verses we “Share”
Number of times we type “Amen”
Love only of America
Acceptance of only the things/people we understand

No. They will know we are Christians by our love.

We are one in the Spirit, We are one in the Lord
We are one in the Spirit, We are one in the Lord
And we pray that all UNITY may one day be restored
And they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love
They will know we are Christians by our LOVE.

We will work with each other, We will work SIDE BY SIDE
We will work with each other, We will work side by side
And we’ll guard each one’s dignity and save each one’s pride
And they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love
They will know we are Christians by our LOVE.

We will walk with each other, We will walk hand in hand
We will walk with each other, We will walk hand in hand
AND TOGETHER WE’LL SPREAD THE NEWS THAT GOD IS IN OUR LAND
And they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love
They will know we are Christians by our love.
Love is patient, Love is kind
Never boasts, Not full of pride
Always hopes, Always trusts
The evidence of Christ in us.
And they’ll know we are Christians by our love, by our love
Yes they’ll know we are Christians by our love.
(Originally posted on my old blog on November 16, 2015)
Leave a Reply

