Conversations with God

For a long time, prayer, to me, was just saying words I thought I should be saying to God.  They were mostly empty.

“Dear God, Thank you for today and the blessings you have given me.  Please be with “name,” “name,” “name,” & “name.”  Please help me do well in school and to not use such bad language.  Please help me have a good week.  Amen.”
I’m not saying that’s a bad prayer, but it has no heart and no real sincerity behind it.  You should pray for others.  You should strive to only speak positive words.  You should thank God for all the things He has blessed you with.  But eventually, saying the same prayer over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and day & night, and day & night, and day & night gets monotonous and loses its power- especially when you aren’t really putting your all in to it.
Something hit me before I started writing this was/is something that I don’t really want to admit.
I have plead with men and have thanked men more sincerely, vigorously, with more love, and have talked with them with more want for help/love/understanding than I am pretty sure I ever have with God. 

This isn’t the case now and hasn’t been for a while.  But WOW.  How ashamed should I be that I begged Caleb for forgiveness or for just 5 more minutes of talking things out when it was God with whom I should have been talking…. that when he was nice to me or did something sweet, I thanked him more than I have ever thanked God for anything.

What kind of message does that send God?  It’s like saying, “Hey God.  I’m talking to you because I know I’m supposed to be, but not because I really want to.  I mean, Your love is great and all, but I’m going to pursue this guy with more fervor than you because he is actually here in physical form.  I can physically hear him talking back to me.  Anything I ask of him is done almost instantaneously and is done the way I want it done.  So…. yeah..”

I think that prayer is HIGHLY under-rated.  I don’t think we really understand the power of it anymore.  One thing that I have been trying to do lately is teach my son the importance and significance of prayer.  I want him to understand that prayer is what links him straight to God and that God ALWAYS listens & answers.  Even if it is His own time, He always answers in the way that is best for us.  No human can truly give us that.

(Originally posted on my old blog on October 11, 2014)

Leave a Reply

