Untitled 1

There have been a few new developments in the lives of myself and the Kid. We have had an interesting 5 days. He doesn’t see them as interesting because he doesn’t really know anything has changed, but eventually, he’ll know.

As most of you who read this know, I’m a single parent. It’s been this way since the Kid was about 3 or 4 months old. 5 years…. almost exactly…. that I’ve been doing this “on my own”. There are quotes there because while I have been the only parent to him, I have certainly not had to do it alone. I’ve had some VERY wonderful people help me out. People who didn’t have to, but did so because that’s who they are. Sandy, Shelby, Kayla, Caleb, Mema, Papa, Nana (none of these are actually blood related to either of us.) They aren’t the only ones, but they have made a huge impact and there is no way I will ever be able to thank them enough or repay them.

Anyways…. There has never been any baby daddy drama. EVER. It’s one of the things I am most grateful for. (We honestly only argued twice the whole time we were together.) Recently, some things have caused us to get back into contact. We met on Friday morning because he said he had some things to say to me. It went how I figured it would…. up until he actually asked to see and contribute to the Kid’s life. That he wanted to do what he said he was going to do before, but didn’t. I won’t get into the details because it’s private-ish business.. but I will say I was shocked.

This is a whole new thing for me. I’ve never even had the thought of having to share the Kid one day. He’s been all mine. I honestly didn’t want to say yes and didn’t want to give him any type of opportunity at all. Unfortunately for my selfishness, I have been praying and have been making a point to pray specifically about this situation. Obviously, what God wanted won out over what I thought I wanted.. One of the verses from my post, A Piece About Peace, was Romans 12: 9-21. I’ve been thinking about what that meant and have been praying about that verse. I know that without that verse, I would not be able to have so much peace about the situation thus far. It is very specific when it says to be joyful, patient, faithful, live harmoniously… Let me tell you…. It’s not always easy. The will of God is so strong and obvious when you open your heart to it and get rid of your own wants. He knows what you need and will never steer you wrong. He just does it in His own time, and sometimes it’s hard to realize that.This whole, living as Christ thing is a process. A process that I’m slowly learning to trust more and more.

We each have our own view of how life should be, but when we try to live as Christ wants us to, it’s amazing what happens. Our church’s new youth minister, Britt, signs his emails with this, “God looks good on you!” and you know what? HE DOES! He looks so much better than anything else you could ever dream of.

Sorry for the short and sort of pointless post today. I haven’t really had a chance to work on another one. So until next time, God Bless!

(Originally posted on my old blog on December 18, 2013)

Leave a Reply

