Where Feet May Fail

For those of you who don’t know, our youth group has been watching The Bible Series on Wednesday nights.  The kids have seemed to really like it.  while it is quite obviously a “Hollywood” interpretation, we also read the scriptures that the stories came from.

Last night’s lesson included the story of Jesus walking on water and calling Peter to him (along with Jesus raising Lazarus from the dead, but I’m gonna save that for another day).  This story can be found in Matthew 14: 22-36 (also Mark 6:45-51 and John 6:15-21…. but those don’t tell of Peter walking to him.)  I really really love this lesson.  “Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!”

We talked a little last night about how we would have reacted.  Almost all of them said they would have immediately gotten out of the boat.  One said she would’ve tried running to Him.  Another said he would’ve gone with no hesitation.  Another said she would’ve gone, but admitted she may have also gotten scared once out there.  They disciples had seen so many miracles, but there was still doubt.  It’s hard to have 100% no doubt and let God take the reigns on everything.  The kids also understood the different meanings behind this story, which I totally loved!

I feel that most people, including myself, have a problem.  The problem is this: Most of us only call out to Him when we feel like we are sinking.  We only call on Him when we feel like we are over our heads.  We sometimes have a hard time believing and knowing that He can help us do anything and go through anything- “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.”

  • I can help others through Christ, who strengthens me.
  • I can deal with the loss of a friend/family member through Christ, who strengthens me.
  • I can handle my child’s bad attitude and rebellious behavior through Christ, who strengthens me.
  • I can share the gospel with others through Christ, who strengthens me.

We tend to leave Him and His will behind on our good days.. when things are going great for us. Then something bad happens and we immediately turn to him.  We forget that He can lead us anywhere.

Look up the song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” by Hillsong: United on YouTube.

(Originally posted on my old blog on December 12, 2013)

Leave a Reply

