Why Do You Go to Church?

church_near_junction_city_kansas

John Vachon 1942 or 1943 Church near Junction City, Kansas

I’ve noticed recently that a good number of people at the church I attend have been pretty much mentally absent while being physically present at our services.  I don’t mean in the way that they are just preoccupied with something, I mean that they seem to just be there.  They play on their phone or sit in the service for a few minutes and then go talk to someone out in the entryway about things completely unrelated while still “Checking-In” to church on Facebook (or any other social media).  Naturally, this has caused me to begin to focus on the question “Why do people go to church?”  It seems like an easy, light question. . . . but it isn’t.  At least it isn’t in MY mind because I want to know the REAL “why” and not just the basic off-the-cuff answer.

So, if you guys who are reading this don’t mind, leave a comment and let me know your “why” and feel free to direct others to visit and share their answers as well.  Any and all answers are welcome and there will be no judgement.  I’m ready to get this conversation rolling!  (My “why” will be posted in a few days on another post I’m working on.)

 

Leave a Reply

